FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Delaware Senate Republicans Select Leadership

Posted on 11-21-2022

Senator Hocker again selected as Republican Leader, Senator Pettyjohn Republican Whip

DOVER, DE – On Monday, November 21, 2022, members of the Senate Republican Caucus selected its leadership heading into the 152nd General Assembly. Senators Gerald Hocker (R-Ocean View) and Brian Pettyjohn (R – Georgetown) were re-elected Republican Leader and Republican Whip, respectively.

“It’s an honor to serve the great people of the 20th District and to lead this caucus into the 152nd General Assembly,” Senator Hocker stated. “Strengthening our justice system, bettering Delaware’s education, and finding solutions to combat rising inflation and fuel costs will be the focus of the Senate Republicans heading into 2023.”

Senator Hocker will be entering his third General Assembly as the caucus’s leader. Senator Pettyjohn will serve a second consecutive General Assembly as Republican Whip.

“I am excited to build upon the work our caucus has done over the past couple of years,” said Senator Pettyjohn. “Our state is headed in the wrong direction, so I am focused on finding innovative methods to convey our message to the voters throughout Delaware. Our caucus will continue to push for common sense solutions to our state’s complex problems.”

The 152nd General Assembly is slated to first convene on January 10, 2023.

Senator Gerald Hocker and Senator Brian Pettyjohn serve the 20th and 19th Senate Districts, respectively.